Architectural Recognition

Tywi Centre



This course will provide the key underpinning knowledge and in-depth understanding of the architectural development of the buildings of the United Kingdom.  It will support learners in developing their understanding of the history of construction and how styles have evolved over time.


2 days

Summary of content

The content of the course will include:

  • Understanding Architectural Styles: Gothic; Earth Construction; Timber Frame and types of in-fill; Classical; The Renaissance; The Arts and Crafts movements.
  • Understanding progressions through ages: Roman; Saxon; Norman; Medieval; Tudor; Jacobean; Restoration; Flemish Influence; Georgian; Victorian; Modern (20th Century)
  • Understanding the vernacular and polite definition of architectural type

Who should attend?

This course is an essential component of the NVQ Level 3 Heritage Wood Occupations but is also extremely relevant to specifiers and planners undertaking assessments of a building’s historic significance.

CITB Training standards and grants

This course is a CITB training standard. CITB registered companies may be eligible to apply for funding from CITB to cover the cost of this course and to receive a short course grant. For full details of available grants and funding please visit or speak with your CITB local adviser.

CITB GET code and grant tier

GET2092 grant tier 1

Architectural Recognition

Register interest for this course

Register interest for this course